Stride Gum

20 July 2008 at 11:14 am (Product Reviews, Random) (, , , , , , , )


This gum is a damn lie.

It’s a good, flavourful gum, don’t get me wrong. But it’s NOT as long lasting as it’s advertised to be. I had higher expectations, in all honesty. The marketing for this gum … the commercials and whatnot, are genius in my opinion. So to chew this gum and not even 20 minutes later, experience significant flavour loss? Needless to say, I was disappointed. But, to their credit, the flavour didn’t dissipate completely. It did fade, though. I kept chewing. I was determined to see how long it would indeed last.

About an hour afterwards, I had almost reached my destination, where regardless, I’d have to throw the gum out. You can’t eat brunch and chew gum so I took notice of the fact that my tongue felt thicker, and my teeth had that “coating” on them that happens when you’ve chewed a fruity gum too long. But there was still that underlying flavour. So, I suppose after 90 minutes you can say the gum carried a “stride” (hahahahaha – smh) but it comes with a price.

I assume the makers of Stride would figure people wouldn’t REALLY chew their gum for that long. They’d be forced to spit it out or their jaw would tire of chewing. But not me. I chewed for as long as I could before I became disgusted with it.

Damn lie, Stride gum is.

But the initial flavour for the first 20 minutes or so? SO GOOD. lol.

Permalink Leave a Comment