Man Failed To Disclose HIV Status

1 September 2009 at 1:24 pm (Beauty, Health & Fitness, Family, Life, News, Oh You So Nasty!, Toronto Life, WTF!?) (, , , , , , , , , )


Years ago, I used to frequent a local social networking community website called Tdotwire (or TDW as its commonly known). In my time there, the site was known as one of immaturity, exposures, gossip and rumours. I had my part in some and also had my share of scandal. When you are young you do stupid things – it got old pretty quick. One of the rumours floating around the site was that one of the members had HIV. We all knew who he was but no one could prove it and no one knew if it was simply the act of a jealous or crazy ex-girlfriend. We laughed it off but the damage was done. It would’ve sucked if this guy DIDN’T have HIV and his face was known all over the GTA as a guy that DID have it. Then this story (shown below) was brought to my attention yesterday. I looked at his face and didn’t place it AT ALL. BUT, as I sit in class and check my facebook notifications via my gmail account (Facebook is blocked at my school) I saw someone send me a comment asking if I remembered this situation from TDW. And when I looked again at the photo I DID recognize him. He looks a little different but without question thats the same guy. I didn’t know his name was Lester Felix. So all those years ago, whomever aired out his HIV status wasnt lying. It wasn’t malicious rumours or gossip. It was truth. He apparently had HIV since 2005 and that’s around the time the “rumours” started. This was already horrific for me to read but now it’s just absolutely surreal. Please wrap it up, everyone. You just really never, ever know 😦

…•…

lester_felix

Donna Hayward is a heavy woman with a kind face, a vulnerable mother of two who fell easily for the smooth-talking Lothario who seemed to look past her weight and into her giving heart.

But now he has been accused of keeping the most heinous of secrets — not just from her, but from so many of his other lovers as well.

Lester Felix, the handsome 28-year-old she has been sleeping with for more than a year, has just been charged with aggravated assault for allegedly having unprotected sex without disclosing he has HIV — a medical condition he has had since 2005.

“Police believe there may be other victims,” their release said last week.

She is one of them.

IN SHOCK

Hayward sits in her cousin’s Scarborough apartment in a heavy haze of shock and cigarette smoke, her eyes swollen by a torrent of tears, paralyzed with fear as she waits to learn if she is now infected with HIV.

“I’m not that lucky to escape it, I know that,” says Hayward, 32. “If I have this, this a death sentence for me. I just keep thinking about my kids. Last night I cried myself to sleep. I’ll never see my kids finish school; I’ll never see my kids get married. Everybody says to stay positive, but it’s hard to.”

She initially met Felix online through a Facebook group called “BBWS (big boned women) worldwide and the black men who luv them” and began their relationship several days after meeting in person last August at one of the group’s social outings at a downtown club.

She weighed more than 300 pounds at the time — she’s lost about 50 since then — but for the first time, her size wasn’t a handicap.

“I felt that nobody would be interested in me and then there’s this good-looking guy asking me out; I thought he was someone who saw past the outside … ”

There will be many who will blame her for her misfortune, but no one does more than herself. Hayward wanted to use condoms, but says Felix told her he was allergic to latex and assured her he was “clean” — so she agreed to unprotected sex, a mistake she ‘ll always regret.

“You’ve got to be smart. If a guy won’t wear a condom, then don’t be with him because men will tell you anything to get what they want.”

They were together often, but Hayward was sometimes intimate with her children’s father and she was aware Felix was also sleeping with many other women he had met online. In fact, he once asked her to referee between two of his dates who had shown up at his Scarborough apartment at the same time.

She always came to his defence, she says, and even lavished him with presents. Hayward is on disability benefits because she suffers from depression, but after winning a few thousand dollars in a lottery, she gave him whatever he requested, from a cellphone to groceries.

He’s now accused of giving her the most horrible gift in return.

WARNING ISSUED

Hayward only learned of his arrest after her Facebook group issued a warning Friday urging anyone who had had sexual contact with Felix to contact police.

“I just burst into tears,” she recalls, “because he knew I had children, he met my children. I can’t believe somebody could be that cold-hearted.”

It has been almost 24 hours since then and the shock is slowly giving way to anger — anger that she might have unwittingly infected her “baby dad;” anger that her time with her two young daughters may have been cut short.

“What right did he have to play God with my life?”

This waiting for test results is torture and part of her yearns to hide until she learns her fate, but Hayward feels she has a duty to go public and encourage Felix’s other partners to get tested and speak to the police as she has.

“It’s embarrassing to come forward, to admit that I was with him, but hopefully me being strong enough to do this will help other people,” she says, her eyes filling with tears once again.

“I know there are other girls. I don’t want him to be able to do this ever again.”

Via: The Toronto Sun

17 Comments

  1. c.k said,

    my friend was infected by this guy she had been dating hi for 3months and he acted like nothing was wrong i just pray for all his victims

    • Lester Felix said,

      C.K. – It’s interesting to read your claims and also a lot of the BOLD statements you have been writing about me while I was voiceless sitting in Jail awaiting my trial. I would like to make it clear that I HAVE NOT INFECTED ANYONE, so it amazes me how you can say that. I WAS NOT arrested for infecting anyone. In Fact (although it is none of your business) I am a ***LONG TERM NON PROGRESSOR*** of the HIV virus and after nearly 10 years of being positive i can still say that doctors say my viral load is really low and furthermore that they do not recommend me taking any medication and most likely i will never need to take any in my lifetime. So to hear you say that I infected your friend is a Lie. I understand that I did not tell some of my past partners which i can say was wrong. i can also understand ones anger towards me for not doing so, but to take that anger and make false claims is just low….. C.K (??).

      P.S — The story above about Donna Hayward I would like to make it known that I was found ** NOT GUILTY** of her bullshit claims that ended up getting exposed during our trial. It is funny how people are so quick to believe everything that is written in the papers just due to a reporter who wants to get the best story and who will say anything to make it sound interesting. Regardless if its really true or false..This case in a court of law it was found to be **Beyond a Reasonable Doubt ****

      FALSE

      I would also like to add that I never infected Donna and that I was ever her boyfriend. I will not get into everything that was exposed about her in court but just think, if you heard your partner had HIV would you call the local newspaper and ask to publish a story??

      in reply to the article i would just like to say that I am …. NOT GUILTY.

  2. Mz. Fenyx said,

    My prayer goes out to your friend c.k.
    Lester Felix is an example of selfish, disgusting and abominable behaviour. I don’t like judging people, but his actions are beyond disgusting. How could you rob someone of their life like that? Granted, that’s possibly how he contracted it in the first place. But come on, you put the entire population of the city of Toronto and beyond in jeopardy! The women he preys on, I pray that they be spared.

    • Lester Felix said,

      Mz. Fenyx – Well in my eyes you are the example of an uneducated, easily manipulated, clueless person who likes to read stories about people who were written by people who do not even know the parties involves or the real story behind it all. Just for you to comment and to act like you know me is ..Stupid. You don’t know a damn thing about me other than a diagnosis and that I was arrested due to someones claims. Furthermore, the reason I say your uneducated is because for you to say I am robbing someone of their life is just a stereotypical statement. Just like there are different strains of cancer there are different strains of HIV.mine is a very weak strain. Granted. I understand that it is still wrong to not let someone know. Although it is much easier for an HIV negative person to say this until they live it. (self DENIAL) is a stage that most HIV positive people will go through.. at some point the stage of **acceptance** follows…. (but you wouldn’t even come close to understanding it)…..If you think that I was purposely trying to pass my virus onto other people then you don’t know shit about me and are just like most stereotypical people when it comes to the HIV virus. My only crime was not informing some of my partners about me, but trying to pass the virus and practicing unsafe
      sex is not even close to what my mindset was.at that time. Looking for acceptance and desperately looking for someone who can help me feel “normal” again was more like it.

      I Prey on women ???? my answer is …..WoW.

      you put the entire population of the city of Toronto and beyond in
      jeopardy!

      My answer is…..Really?? I didn’t know that I was the only person in Toronto with HIV. Never mind Herpes, Gonorrhea, SARS, and all the other illnesses affecting THE WORLD today. You need to stop seeing me as one who chooses to have this (HIV) weapon attached to my arm.
      because when its all said and done HIV is bigger than you and I and Toronto. HIV was here before I was even Born so stop talking your uneducated stupidness. If it was your sister who got charged with what I got charged for then you wouldn’t be saying half the shit your saying. HIV does not discriminate and it can be the nicest person you know who gets infected. Just because they are looking for love in all the wrong places does not mean they wish the world death. If i was to pass it on to someone I would have been emotionally and spiritually Crushed. My advise to you is to learn more about HIV before you choose to use some of the words that you do. Furthermore, do some research about HIV laws and appeals such as mine and the Maboir case which is currently in the supreme court and will most likely change the laws across all of canada when it comes to criminalization of hiv non disclosure.
      . How can the law call it a “significant risk” to cause death if the virus is not killing me? How can they convict people to 6-15 years for non disclosure with no medical evidence that looks past an HIV diagnosis to help them verify that the strain causes a ***significant risk*** of death???

      I am glad to be a part of the HIV community who is supporting me in my appeal aswell as all the activists who are showing up for support and the fight against HIV criminalization in cases such as mine where no infections occur and people are loosing 8 years of their life for being HIV+ . I would like to add that I understand criminalization if one was to infect someone. but if one does not infect someone then call it what it is. 2 people who chose to have sex who both had the choice to use protection. One thing you did say was that I contracted it from someone myself. Well yes i did and I blame them (if they knew) but i also blame MYSELF, because I knew about HIV ever since i was in elementary and i chose to have sex without a condom so I hafe to put some of the blame on myself. It would be wrong for me to point the finger only at the person who infected me.

      It Takes 2.

      **While only being human us hiv positive people do not

  3. lost_n_wanderingangel said,

    Why isn’t it illegal when an HIV+ person dosen’t inform there sexual partner of their HIV+ status???
    This has happened to me and another person during the same time period,2007, probably several others. Gregory Lee Taylor KNEW he was HIV+ in May 2007, and didn’t tell his partners.

    (Crestview, Fla.) October 8 — A Crestview man is charged with a felony for failing to inform his sexual partner he was HIV positive.

    45-Gregory Lee Taylor was arrested on October 1 at his home after a year long investigation.

    Okaloosa County Sheriff’s investigators obtained confidential medical records with a court order.

    The court order confirmed that Taylor was indeed HIV positive.

    The victim, Taylor’s partner, filed a report with the sheriff’s office in October of 2007.

    The victim tells investigators she had sex with Taylor three times in June of 2007.

    The arrest report alleges that Taylor never mentioned he was HIV positive.

    In Florida, it is unlawful for any person with a sexually transmitted disease not to inform their partner of their condition.
    http://www.local15tv.com/news/local/story
    Crestview man charged with felony for not disclosing HIV status
    October 07, 2008 1:49 PM
    Robbyn Brooks | Florida Freedom Newspapers
    A Crestview man has been charged with a felony count of failing to inform a sexual partner he was HIV positive.

    Gregory Lee Taylor, 45, was arrested Oct. 1 at his home after a year-long investigation, according to an Okaloosa County Sheriff’s Office arrest report.

    The victim filed a report with the Sheriff’s Office in October 2007. She told deputies she engaged in oral, anal and vaginal sex with Taylor in Okaloosa County three times in June 2007. The arrest report alleges Taylor never mentioned he was HIV positive.

    Investigators obtained confidential medical records with a court order. Taylor’s arrest report said he was made aware he’d tested positive on May 31, 2007 by an Okaloosa County Health Department employee and licensed practical nurse. Taylor even went through post-test counseling where the nurse told him HIV is a sexually transmissible disease and that he needed to inform his sexual partners of his positive status prior to having sex, the report said.

    When a deputy initially spoke with Taylor, he denied knowing the victim and told the deputy to talk to his attorney.

    A witness told investigators he received a call from Taylor after the victim filed a report. Taylor told the witness he was HIV positive and on medication to treat it, the report said. The witness also told investigators Taylor called him again and told him he was no longer HIV positive.

    Taylor is scheduled to appear before a judge on Nov. 4 in Crestview.

  4. Human said,

    International protest at Canadian legal case
    In advance of a landmark Supreme Court case, organizations world-wide are calling on Canada to stop crimilalizing people living with HIV.

    Canadian criminal law requires people living with HIV to disclose their status before engaging in behaviour that involves a “significant risk” of transmitting the virus. Yet people have been charged and convicted for not disclosing their status, even though their activity did not pose a significant risk of HIV transmission.

    This is a miscarriage of justice. Further, it has contributed to a climate marked by anxiety, fear, stigma and misinformation that undermines HIV counselling, education and prevention efforts. This puts all Canadians at greater risk.

    On February 8, the Supreme Court of Canada will hear two landmark cases on this important issue.

    POSITIVE LIVING BC and the other undersigned organizations are respectfully asking that the Court uses this opportunity to explicitly reconfirm that people living with HIV are not criminals in cases where the threshold of significant risk is not met – including cases where condoms are used or the HIV positive person was being successfully treated with antiretroviral drugs.

    We are asking that the Court instruct lower courts that significant risk must be determined on the basis of the best available scientific evidence, not on assumptions, prejudice or fear.

    We are also calling on the provincial and territorial Attorneys General to follow suit and adopt guidelines to limit prosecutions in cases of HIV non-disclosure. These prosecutions are not helpful in putting an end to this epidemic, and the radical over-extension of the criminal law is counter-productive and damaging.

    Signatory List:

    Acción Ciudadana Contra el Sida Venezuela (ACCSI)
    Action Canada for Population and Development / Action Canada pour la population et le développement
    Action positive VIH/sida
    African and Caribbean Council on HIV/AIDS in Ontario (ACCHO) / Conseil des Africains et Caraïbéens sur le VIH/sida en Ontario (CACVO)  
    Africans in Partnership Against AIDS (APAA)
    Afrihealth Information Projects / Afrihealth Optonet Association
    AIDES
    AIDS Action Now!
    AIDS Committee of Durham Region
    AIDS Committee of Guelph and Wellington County
    AIDS Committee of Ottawa / Comité du sida d’Ottawa
    AIDS Committee of Toronto (ACT)
    AIDS Community Care Montréal / Sida bénévoles Montréal
    AIDS and Human Rights Research Unit, Centre for Human Rights, University of Pretoria
    AIDS Network
    AIDS New Brunswick / Sida Nouveau-Brunswick
    AIDS Programs South Saskatchewan, Inc.
    AIDS & Rights Alliance for Southern Africa (ARASA)
    All Nations Hope AIDS Network
    Alliance for South Asian AIDS Prevention (ASAAP)
    L’A.R.C.H.E. de l’Estrie
    Asia pacific network of people living with HIV/AIDS (APN+)
    Assaulted Women’s and Children’s Counsellor/Advocate Program
    Associação Mulher, Lei e Desenvolvimento (MULEIDE)
    Association of Substitution Treatment Advocates of Ukraine (ASTAU)
    Australian Federation of AIDS Organisations / Fédération australienne des organisations du SIDA
    B.C. Civil Liberties Association
    Black Coalition for AIDS Prevention (Black CAP)
    Blood Ties Four Directions Centre
    Bruce House
    Bureau local d’intervention traitant du sida (BLITS)
    Bureau régional d’action sida (BRAS Outaouais)
    CACTUS-Montréal
    Canadian Aboriginal AIDS Network / Réseau canadien Autochtone du SIDA
    Canadian AIDS Society / Société canadienne du sida
    Canadian Associaiton of Nurses in AIDS Care (CANAC) / Association canadienne des infirmières et infirmiers en sidologie (ACIIS)
    Canadian Drug Policy Coalition, Faculty of Health Sciences, Simon Fraser University
    Canadian Harm Reduction Network
    Canadian Hemophilia Society / Société canadienne de l’hémophilie
    Canadian Working Group on HIV and Rehabilitation (CWGHR)
    Central Alberta AIDS Network Society
    Centre des R.O.S.É.S. de l’Abitibi-Témiscamingue
    Centre for Health Policy and Innovation with the World Health Organization
    Centre for the Study of AIDS
    Centre Sida Amitié
    CF “VIRTUS”, Ukraine
    Coalition des organismes communautaires québécois de lutte contre le sida (COCQ-Sida)
    Coalition Internationale Sida (Coalition PLUS)
    Coalition Sida des Sourds du Québec
    Corporation Félix Hubert d’Hérelle
    Danish AIDS Foundation (AIDS Fondet)
    Deutsche AIDS-Hilfe e.V
    Development for Peace Education Lesotho
    Dopamine
    ÉMISS-ère
    European Aids Treatment Group (EATG)
    Faculté des Sciences de la Santé, Université d’Ottawa / Faculty of Health Sciences, University of Ottawa
    Fondation d’aide directe — sida Montréal
    Fonds de recherche du Québec — Santé (FRSQ)
    Fundación Huésped
    Global Forum on MSM & HIV (MSMGF) / Forum mondial sur les HSH et le VIH
    Global Network of People living with HIV – North America / Réseau mondial des personnes vivant avec le VIH – Section nord-américaine
    Global Network of Sex Work Projects
    Groupe d’entraide à l’intention des personnes séropositives itinérantes et toxicomanes (Organisme GEIPSI)
    Groupe sida Genève
    Hassle Free Clinc
    HIV & AIDS Legal Clinic Ontario (HALCO)
    HIV Justice Network / Réseau Justice VIH
    Intervention Régionale et Information sur le Sida, Estrie (IRIS Estrie)
    Interagency Coalition on AIDS and Development (ICAD) / Coalition interagence sida et développement (CISD)
    International Community of Women Living with HIV (ICW Global) / Communauté internationale des femmes vivant avec le VIH
    John Mordaunt Trust
    M.A.I.N.S – Bas St. Laurent
    M.I.E.L.S-Quebec
    Maggie’s Toronto Sex Workers Action Project
    Maison Plein Cœur
    Maison Re-Né
    Médecins du Monde Canada
    Most at Risk Populations’ Society in Uganda
    National AIDS Trust (NAT)
    National Association of People Living with HIV/AIDS
    Observatoire du sida et des sexualités
    Ontario AIDS Network
    Peel HIV/AIDS Network
    People’s Health Movement (South Africa)
    Pharmacies Martin Duquette
    Pivot Legal Society
    Le Planning Familial (MFPF)
    Point de Repères
    PolitiQ – Queers solidaires
    Portail VIH/sida du Québec
    Positive Living BC
    Positive Women’s Network
    Positive Vibes Trust
    POZCO
    Public Personalities Against AIDS Trust
    Queensland Positive People
    Registered Nurses’ Association of Ontartio
    Santamaria Fundación
    Scarlet Alliance, the Australian Sex Workers Association
    School of Public Health and Family Medicine, University of Cape Town
    Sero-stigma & Empowerment Resource Organization (SERO)
    Society Against Sexual Orientation Discrimination (SASOD)
    St. Stephen’s Community House
    Stella, l’amie de Maimie
    Tanzania Network of Women living with HIV and AIDS (TNW+)
    Toronto HIV/AIDS Network (THN)
    Toronto People With AIDS Foundation
    University Research Chair in Forensic Nursing, School of Nursing, Faculty of Health Sciences at the University of Ottawa
    Victoria AIDS Resource & Community Service Society
    Warning
    Wezesha
    Women and Law In Southern Africa Research and Education Trust
    YouthCo
    More information:

    Janet Butler-McPhee
    Director of Communications, Canadian HIV/AIDS Legal Network
    416 595-1666 ext. 228
    jbutler@aidslaw.ca
     

    Source:  POSITIVE LIVING BC
    Published:  6 February 2012
    Canadian HIV/AIDS Legal Network Criminalization of HIV Petition Supreme Court of Canada Canada
    Login to post comments

  5. I'm Still Human said,

    This is about Lester Felix and his appeal!!!

    As well as all of his supporters

    Appeals from two men convicted of sexual assault because they did not disclose their HIV-positive status before having sex were delayed by the Ontario Court of Appeal June 25.
     
    At the centre of the cases is whether condom use negates the legal obligation to inform sexual partners of your HIV status before having sex.
     
    The legal test for conviction — which requires proof of “a significant risk of serious bodily harm” — is under review by the Supreme Court of Canada. That court is expected to specifically address condom use and criminal prosecutions when it releases its decision in Mabior later this year.
     
    The two Ontario Court of Appeal cases are unrelated, but because they raise the same legal issues, they are being heard together. The names of the accused are public, but Xtra has so far declined to publish them. The names of the complainants are protected by a publication ban.
     
    F was convicted on a number of charges, including sexual assault for nondisclosure even though he used a condom.
     
    M was convicted of aggravated sexual assault, and the trial judge ruled that condom use was irrelevant.
     
    Sexual assault carries a maximum penalty of 10 years in prison. The maximum sentence for aggravated sexual assault is life in prison. If the convictions stand, their names could be added to the sex offender registry permanently. Neither of the defendants are currently in jail.
     
    The Canadian HIV/AIDS Legal Network and the HIV/AIDS Legal Clinic-Ontario intervened in the Ontario cases and presented a joint submission.
     
    They argued that condom use reduces the risk of HIV transmission to 0.016 percent and therefore should be a complete bar to prosecution. They further argued that even when a condom is not used, in some cases the risk of transmission is too remote to constitute a “significant risk.”
     
    The adjournment was a surprise to some HIV advocates. About 20 people packed into the court’s viewing gallery wearing T-shirts with the words “HIV positive” written on them, expecting to hear the arguments of the appeal. Instead, the judges acknowledged them, saying that the issue was important to many but announced their decision to hold off on the hearing until the Supreme Court’s decision in Mabior is released.
      
     
    Tags: hiv/aids, mabior, supreme court of canada
    Read More:
    HIV criminalization is the biggest block to prevention
    Supremely intimate

    More Sharing ServicesShare | Share on email Share on facebook Share on reddit Share on twitter Share on stumbleupon Share on digg

    Post a Comment

    Reader Comments

    These reader comments are posted directly. No editorial review is made prior to posting. Readers may contact the moderator with any complaints or concerns, and these will be reviewed within two business days.

     
    Ah, the creation of undesirables…
    (Nazi history anyone?)and if history is any indicator you can bet that those with HIV will be criminalized further. All thanks of course to “advocates” such as HALCO who god help us are interveners in the case. They among other “advocates” and “advocate” organizations dropped the ball in the first place by supporting the criminalization of HIV. The door is now WIDE-OPEN to perpetrate legal hate based discrimination, especially against Gay Men. Rather than being proactive and preemtive they chose an act of violence against the HIV community, just a little one, you know, supporting just a little HIV criminalization. An act so obscene a Board member resigned over the issue….. http://www.xtra.ca/public/Toronto/Time_to_stand_against_the_criminalization_of_HIV-7529.aspx…….Hmmn? I wonder how this is all going to go? Yep, we’ve seen this before. ALL HIV Positive people have very much to fear. I hope I’m wrong.
    judgejudy, toronto on
    06/26/12 12:32 AM EST
    Report this comment to moderator.
    Don’t worry
    Don’t worry judgejudy, the Supreme Court of Canada will likely accept the arguments of AIDS activists and rule that HIV-positive people have no legal duty to disclose their HIV status before having protected or unprotected sex. Instead, the law of the jungle will rule. If you’re HIV-negative and you choose to have bareback sex with strangers, don’t be surprised if one of them infects you. If you’re HIV-negative and you choose to have condom sex with strangers, don’t be surprised if one of them secretly takes the condom off during sex and infects you. That is the law of the jungle. That is the reality of sex with strangers in the gay male community. Happy Pride.
    Tom, Toronto ON
    06/26/12 12:56 AM EST
    Report this comment to moderator.
    meh
    if a guy had something and they knew and didn’t tell me, they’d end up needing protective custody. Knowingly passing a disease should be treated as manslaughter. Potential partners have a right to know what dangers are involved.
    Ralph, Mtl Qc
    06/26/12 3:50 PM EST
    Report this comment to moderator.
    Hey Ralph….
    I totally agree…as you say…”Knowingly passing a disease should be treated as manslaughter.”…ALL diseases not just those by the GAYS. ALL of them! You wanna give me the flu, FU! You wanna give me Hep FU!!!!!!!!!!!! These fuckers on the subway coughing and spewing their shit all over the place, giving me Pneumonia, Bronchitis who or who knows what? Round the fuckers up! This shit can kill me! HIV? I’m not worried about that, I’m worried about some imported infectious fucked-up disease I’m going to get from some fucker who failed to mention he may have TB or Cholera as he illegally entered the country while he gleefully rides the subway coughing and spewing everywhere he goes. HIV? That’s the LEAST of my concerns. I agree with you Ralph,…”Knowingly passing a disease should be treated as manslaughter.”
    tim, toronto on
    06/27/12 10:48 AM EST
    Report this comment to moderator.
    tim
    All i know is every time i see a news report on some flu going around in asian countries, you see people on the metros wearing masks to protect strangers. What does it say about us that we don’t even care about our partners’ health, to the point of defending people’s right to get others sick without informed consent or judicial consequence.
    Ralph, Mtl Qc
    06/30/12 8:16 AM EST
    Report this comment to moderator.
    Ralph, nice try
    it’s not about not giving informed consent, it’s about discrimination, and criminalization of mostly Gay Men. if it was about anything else, then those fuckers knowingly spreading diseases in public putting my health at risk would be rounded up and imprisoned. I can die from pneumonia, get it? No round of long-term meds will save me, unlike HIV which is mostly NOT a death sentence. But I can die from Pneumonia, almost have twice and each time it was given to me knowing walking around with pneumonia. And what about Hep C? That is a death sentence! Round them ALL up, why just pick on the Gays? And that’s what this is, oh sure we’ll cover the true intent by publicizing some black man screwing with white women to appease the innate hatred of the populace and their racism for justification of directed discrimination, but in the end, it’s GAY MEN.
    tim, toronto on
    06/30/12 12:09 PM EST
    Report this comment to moderator.
    Discrimination…
    If you knowingly give me Hep C, do you become a criminal? No? Why Not? It is a death sentence. …………………………………………………………………….. If you give me pneumonia, cholera, the plague, bacterial infections, the cold/flu while knowingly carrying this around, do you become a criminal? No? Why not? To me these things are death sentences and have been since I was a kid. …………………………………. Wear a fucking condom, accept personal responsibility for your own actions and stop trying to quarantine and criminalize the Gays. Or else make the law across the board. You can’t have it both ways. Only NAZI’S support this shit.
    wizardofpoz, Hamilton ON
    06/30/12 12:21 PM EST
    Report this comment to moderator.

  6. Lester Felix **REPLIES** said,

    It’s interesting to read your claims and also a lot of the BOLD statements you have been writing about me while I was voiceless sitting in Jail awaiting my trial. I would like to make it clear that I HAVE NOT INFECTED ANYONE, so it amazes me how you can say that. I WAS NOT arrested for infecting anyone. In Fact (although it is none of your business) I am a ***LONG TERM NON PROGRESSOR*** of the HIV virus and after nearly 10 years of being positive i can still say that doctors say my viral load is really low and furthermore that they do not recommend me taking any medication and most likely i will never need to take any in my lifetime. So to hear you say that I infected your friend is a Lie. I understand that I did not tell some of my past partners which i can say was wrong. i can also understand ones anger towards me for not doing so, but to take that anger and make false claims is just low….. C.K (??).

    P.S — The story above about Donna Hayward I would like to make it known that I was found ** NOT GUILTY** of her bullshit claims that ended up getting exposed during our trial. It is funny how people are so quick to believe everything that is written in the papers just due to a reporter who wants to get the best story and who will say anything to make it sound interesting. Regardless if its really true or false..This case in a court of law it was found to be **Beyond a Reasonable Doubt ****

    FALSE

    I would also like to add that I never infected Donna and that I was ever her boyfriend. I will not get into everything that was exposed about her in court but just think, if you heard your partner had HIV would you call the local newspaper and ask to publish a story??

    in reply to the article i would just like to say that I am …. NOT GUILTY.

    in my eyes you are the example of an uneducated, easily manipulated, clueless person who likes to read stories about people who were written by people who do not even know the parties involves or the real story behind it all. Just for you to comment and to act like you know me is ..Stupid. You don’t know a damn thing about me other than a diagnosis and that I was arrested due to someones claims. Furthermore, the reason I say your uneducated is because for you to say I am robbing someone of their life is just a stereotypical statement. Just like there are different strains of cancer there are different strains of HIV.mine is a very weak strain. Granted. I understand that it is still wrong to not let someone know. Although it is much easier for an HIV negative person to say this until they live it. (self DENIAL) is a stage that most HIV positive people will go through.. at some point the stage of **acceptance** follows…. (but you wouldn’t even come close to understanding it)…..If you think that I was purposely trying to pass my virus onto other people then you don’t know shit about me and are just like most stereotypical people when it comes to the HIV virus. My only crime was not informing some of my partners about me, but trying to pass the virus and practicing unsafe
    sex is not even close to what my mindset was.at that time. Looking for acceptance and desperately looking for someone who can help me feel “normal” again was more like it.

    I Prey on women ???? my answer is …..WoW.

    you put the entire population of the city of Toronto and beyond in
    jeopardy!

    My answer is…..Really?? I didn’t know that I was the only person in Toronto with HIV. Never mind Herpes, Gonorrhea, SARS, and all the other illnesses affecting THE WORLD today. You need to stop seeing me as one who chooses to have this (HIV) weapon attached to my arm.
    because when its all said and done HIV is bigger than you and I and Toronto. HIV was here before I was even Born so stop talking your uneducated stupidness. If it was your sister who got charged with what I got charged for then you wouldn’t be saying half the shit your saying. HIV does not discriminate and it can be the nicest person you know who gets infected. Just because they are looking for love in all the wrong places does not mean they wish the world death. If i was to pass it on to someone I would have been emotionally and spiritually Crushed. My advise to you is to learn more about HIV before you choose to use some of the words that you do. Furthermore, do some research about HIV laws and appeals such as mine and the Maboir case which is currently in the supreme court and will most likely change the laws across all of canada when it comes to criminalization of hiv non disclosure.
    . How can the law call it a “significant risk” to cause death if the virus is not killing me? How can they convict people to 6-15 years for non disclosure with no medical evidence that looks past an HIV diagnosis to help them verify that the strain causes a ***significant risk*** of death???

    I am glad to be a part of the HIV community who is supporting me in my appeal aswell as all the activists who are showing up for support and the fight against HIV criminalization in cases such as mine where no infections occur and people are loosing 8 years of their life for being HIV+ . I would like to add that I understand criminalization if one was to infect someone. but if one does not infect someone then call it what it is. 2 people who chose to have sex who both had the choice to use protection. One thing you did say was that I contracted it from someone myself. Well yes i did and I blame them (if they knew) but i also blame MYSELF, because I knew about HIV ever since i was in elementary and i chose to have sex without a condom so I hafe to put some of the blame on myself. It would be wrong for me to point the finger only at the person who infected me.

    It Takes 2.

  7. Lester Felix said,

    http://www.xtra.ca/public/National/Ontario_Court_of_Appeal_adjourns_HIV_cases-12195.aspx

    Ontario Court of Appeal adjourns HIV cases
    LEGAL NEWS / Hearing for two accused hinges on Supreme Court decision
    Marcus McCann / National / Monday, June 25, 2012
    More Sharing ServicesShare | Share on email Share on facebook Share on reddit Share on twitter Share on stumbleupon Share on digg

    Appeals from two men convicted of sexual assault because they did not disclose their HIV-positive status before having sex were delayed by the Ontario Court of Appeal June 25.

    At the centre of the cases is whether condom use negates the legal obligation to inform sexual partners of your HIV status before having sex.

    The legal test for conviction — which requires proof of “a significant risk of serious bodily harm” — is under review by the Supreme Court of Canada. That court is expected to specifically address condom use and criminal prosecutions when it releases its decision in Mabior later this year.

    The two Ontario Court of Appeal cases are unrelated, but because they raise the same legal issues, they are being heard together. The names of the accused are public, but Xtra has so far declined to publish them. The names of the complainants are protected by a publication ban.

    F was convicted on a number of charges, including sexual assault for nondisclosure even though he used a condom.

    M was convicted of aggravated sexual assault, and the trial judge ruled that condom use was irrelevant.

    Sexual assault carries a maximum penalty of 10 years in prison. The maximum sentence for aggravated sexual assault is life in prison. If the convictions stand, their names could be added to the sex offender registry permanently. Neither of the defendants are currently in jail.

    The Canadian HIV/AIDS Legal Network and the HIV/AIDS Legal Clinic-Ontario intervened in the Ontario cases and presented a joint submission.

    They argued that condom use reduces the risk of HIV transmission to 0.016 percent and therefore should be a complete bar to prosecution. They further argued that even when a condom is not used, in some cases the risk of transmission is too remote to constitute a “significant risk.”

    The adjournment was a surprise to some HIV advocates. About 20 people packed into the court’s viewing gallery wearing T-shirts with the words “HIV positive” written on them, expecting to hear the arguments of the appeal. Instead, the judges acknowledged them, saying that the issue was important to many but announced their decision to hold off on the hearing until the Supreme Court’s decision in Mabior is released.

  8. LESTER the MOLESTER said,

    York Regional Police believe there may be more victims after a woman had sex with a man who is HIV positive.

    Earlier this year, the woman met a man on the Internet who used aliases such as Justincredible, T real Felix and Reuben, police said.

    In January, they met at the woman’s house, where she had unprotected sex with him, police said adding the man did not tell her he was HIV positive.

    Last Friday, police arrested 32-year-old Lester Felix of Toronto and charged him with aggravated sexual assault and two counts of breach of a court order.

    If you have information, call police at 1-866-876-5423, ext. 7071 or Crime Stoppers at 1-800-222-TIPS, leave an anonymous tip 1800222tips.com or text YORK and your tip to CRIMES (274637).

  9. Hillary said,

    Lol Lester aka “lashawn”…….ur one sick fuck…..just saw you have been charged again…..will u ever get it? What will it take? Quit messing with girls lives……so glad I finally got rid of your stalking ways……I’m sure u still think of me while in ur jail cell eh lol…….have a wonderful life……..

    • Lester said,

      Really??? hillarry?? I don’t even know who tha fuck you are..?!?! about I think about you.. by the way the charges got dropped u dumb bitch!!!

      • H said,

        lol You know damn well who I am……You stalked me in all of 2005/2006……you made facebook groups of me when you found out I was married….you threatened to tell my entire family and all my friends that I was cheating on my husband if I didn’t have sex with you…..haha don’t pretend here.

      • Les said,

        Hill thats bs but if I think you are who u say u are. you did cheat on your husband… who are u fooling??

      • Les said,

        your an attention whore. I slept with u before I even knew that I was positive. You cheated of your husband so many times and when i first met you. you said that you had sex with someone else earlier in the day. you were a slut from the 1st time I met you and you know it. I’ve never stalked your wack ass…you came to my place…when you were married and I used to see you at your place when you were engaged!! if you want to go back and fourth on here your on your own cause you are not even worth stalking.. especially when i AM and always could do so much better that you!!!

      • H said,

        I’m the slut but your walking around with HIV. And you found our you were positive in 2005. We had sex multiple times that year and again in the beginning of 2006. All I can say is, God is good and I thank him for keeping me safe from you. Good luck with whatever u plan on doing with ur life…..hopefully u can turn it a round

  10. Lester said,

    Think of you.. ??? The police never releases when ones found NOT GUILTY….like I was on oct 19, 2015.

Leave a Reply

