Change Is NOT A One-Day Realization: Happy New Year!

1 January 2011 at 2:14 pm (Life) (, , , , , , , , )


First and foremost, I want to wish my readers a wonderful and blessed 2011. I hope you all strive to gain love, understanding, success and peace in your lives this year and always.

Now, I’m not knocking anyone for their choice to make a New Years resolution but people need to realize and understand that change doesn’t happen because the clock hits 11:59 or 12:01. Change happens everyday of your life and if you wait for a specific day to change, you’re setting yourself up for failure because you’ve already enveloped yourself in an invisible cloak of pressure to uphold whatever it is you vowed to do.

The most MAJOR change I wanted in 2011, I went about making a couple of months ago and for the sake of my mental health, emotional mind state and overall general health it was THE best decision I had to make. I wanted my 2011 to be a fresh start, drama free and removing him from my life made that possible. I entered 2011 with a head start on a new outlook on what I want out of life and I couldn’t have done that with the pressures of living up to a promise I made just because it was January 1.

See, me? The only thing I’m resolving to do this year is to continue to grow. Continue to evolve and better myself. As I get closer to my 30’s, I see the importance of staying true to who I’ve become and who I’ve worked hard to mold in my 20’s but you can always grow and evolve and learn and change – it’s an ongoing process. Not a one-day realization.

You can wake up one morning and just be FED UP of all the crap and want to make a difference in your life. You can soul search and think about what needs to be done differently. There’s nothing wrong with doing this in May or September. I know people tend to think about things more as the holidays come around and the year draws to an end but self-reflection doesn’t need to happen once a year. You should always look in the mirror. You should always have conversations with yourself. You should always be checking in with your life’s plan to see if you’re still on the path and if you’ve diverted, double back and start again. We’re only human. We aren’t perfect. In order to be great we have to fall and make mistakes but the key is to learn from them and come back two times stronger. Hell, THREE times stronger. The only person you have to answer to is yourself (and of course, your God, if you believe in a higher power).

Always know that if you make a resolution and you don’t hold to it by the end of the month, it’s not because you failed so much as you put too much pressure on yourself to begin with. Start small and build. Take each day one day at a time. Especially if you’re a 20-something reading this. I’ve BEEN there. Trust me when I say, you WILL screw up more than you will succeed in your 20’s. They’re ALL about growing and learning and finding out where you want to be in life and who you are as a person. This is why I cannot WAIT to leave my 20’s behind. As much as I learned they were NOT kind to me. So much back and forth and waste of years on things and people who really had NO bearing on where I need to be in life. Now that I’m aware of all these things I want to sit back and enjoy what I learned, reflect on those mistakes and laugh because they’ll never be made again. Life is too short and you can say this all the time but until it hits you for real, you don’t know the true meaning of living each day as if it was your last.

Wishing you all the best for 2011  and just remember, you can ALWAYS evoke changes in your life. EveryDAY if need be. LIVE.YOUR.LIFE. And love your life.

Leave a Reply

