The Passion Is In the Risk

13 March 2010 at 12:31 pm (Life, Love & Relationships) (, , , , , , , , )


I was watching the new romantic comedy, When In Rome, a couple weeks ago and it wasn’t the best movie but it was OK. Dope enough to watch alone on a Sunday afternoon … BOOTLEG of course, haha! Anyway, there was a simple line in the movie that made me think about my life and the lives of a few people around me. The line was “the passion is in the risk“. The concept in which it was used isn’t that important because it can transcend not just romantic relationships but friendships and even work situations as well. When you have a desire for a person, a thing, a job/career, music or whatever else you could have a passion for,  unless you are actually doing something about it … there is no genuine love for it. For instance, if you have a passion to write but are never writing or submitting your works for publication, where is the passion? Taking that first initial step, that risk, is where the passion is. It shows you that by taking these steps to get the job done you are passionate about what it is that you want done or want to do. For whatever reason, though, we don’t do this because of fear, shyness, pessimism, lack of confidence, not wanting to be rejected – the excuse list goes on and on. No one ever said the world would be a nice, easy place to live in. The old adage of “life is what you make it” really is the truth.

In MY case I was thinking about relationships and how I feel about them. I’m completely jaded towards them for reasons of my own that shall remain private but again, thinking of this simple movie line, I had to sit and think for a GOOD FEW DAYS if my opinion on relationships is really a valid one or me just being scared due to past experiences and reactions I’ve had as of late. If I take no risks in being with someone then there is nothing passionate about this relationship. I’d be settling and / or alone and pretty much miserable. That’s not to say I HAVE to have someone. Unless you are truly ready for a relationship all these talks don’t really apply to you. I’m speaking to the people that are single right now, not by choice, but maybe due to some bad luck, bad choices and actually want to do better … I’m basing this on the deep human nature of wanting to have companionship and real love in your life without all the bs that comes along with it. MOST of us want that. MOST of us are ok with being alone for a short time only. Not everyone wants to be alone and if they say they do, deep down they DO want to share their life with a special someone. Maybe not right now but eventually. Procreation and life has to occur with someone else. Last I checked we aren’t asexual insects ;).

I started thinking of my past relationships and whether enough risks were taken. And in only ONE relationship did I do that. And to this day, it remains the relationship most near and dear to my heart and with the fondest of memories. I can know with 1000% certainty I will never feel that again. Those kinds of feelings and relationships, where you know with absolute positivity your partner feels the same way, only occur once in life. I truly believe this.  The reason that relationship still haunts me to this day is because there were risks, there were steps taken to make something work, that in other cases wouldn’t, but it didn’t work out because the most important risk, the one that would cement everything, was never moved on. It remained stagnant, and so did we. With all that being said, the ones we DID take, took strong dedication and love and guess what? It was THE most, and remains the most, passionate relationship of my life.

This simple quote had SO much meaning to me in my life and if you think back to the instances of your own I’m sure you could take and apply it to yourself. Surely, it will hold poignant meaning for you as well. My advice is to always take risks. We’ve got only so much time on this earth. Only so much time to do what it is we were put here to do. If we sit back and let time pass us by without going after what we want then we won’t ever get the full magnitude of what it is we desire.

With that being said, there’s a risk I’m going to take and if all goes well I’ll be sharing that with you in less than 2 months. I’m being serious, readers. TAKE RISKS in your life. More often than not, those risks will pay off and if they don’t then at least you know you won’t be scared to do it again once another opportunity presents itself. Best wishes!

7 Comments

  1. Linda said,

    As always, amazing. ❤

  2. Fixed Rates Mortgages said,

    […] The Passion Is In the Risk « Corprah Lanfrey […]

  3. Trend Following in the Stock Market | Insider Forex Secrets Guide said,

    […] T&#1211&#1077 Passion I&#1109 I&#1495 t&#1211&#1077 Risk « Corprah Lanfrey […]

  4. Kee'Sha said,

    The passion is in the risk.

    It’s kind of ironic that last night I was thinking about that and taking the risk…is soooo scary, but worth it….sometimes even if it doesn’t work the way you want.

  5. Lauren said,

    I just watched “When in Rome” myself, and was moved by the quote as well. I wanted to see what others thought about the quote so i googled it. i got into a fight with my boyfriend earlier tonight because he wants me to move in but i’ve moved in with an ex before and he really hurt me so now im scared. My boyfriend is an amazing person and i shouldn’t be so scared, because the passion is in the risk. Thank you

  6. Pravin said,

    Hey, you know what I had the same feeling when I watched the movie today. Started thinking on and on it had created massive changes in my way of thinking. Dont know how it is going to be but being positive I have to take risks as u said might be scared or one of the reason u wrote. I am missing many things in my life what I want is not being done from my side. There is so many things to share… hope we’ll in future. Lets take risk!!!

  7. Pravin said,

    Thank you so much….

Leave a Reply

