It’s The End Of the World As We Know It …

20 January 2010 at 8:02 pm (Life, Lyrics & Quotes, World Issues) (, , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , )


… and I FEEL FINE!

Why? Because I’m living in the now. I have too much going on to worry about the future and whether I’ll be alive to see it. I HOPE I will but I’m not harping on it.

This post is gonna get me in a lil hot water with people. Friends, especially. But I would rather post my thoughts here than discuss religion with them. One thing I NEVER do is bring religion or politics into my relationships. I’m just asking for trouble that way.

People are saying with all that’s going on in South America (for example, the earthquakes and whatnot) that the end of the world is coming. Prepare yourself and get to know God because Judgement Day is coming. And sooner than we think. I don’t know if I believe all that. I believe in science as WELL as God and all the earthquakes (and crazy weather) ALL point to GLOBAL WARMING. People cried the world was ending when the tsunami hit South-East Asia and the world saw the deadliest earthquake erupt beneath the Indian Ocean! We’re STILL here! Cold and snow in Miami, Spring-like days in Canada, chilly evenings in the south ….? It’s all due to the damage we’ve done to our planet over the last century. This has, in MY opinion, nothing to do with the second coming of Jesus. Do I believe He will return? OF COURSE. Do I think he’ll do it in such a destructive way? Not entirely. I don’t think Jesus will come back to judge the living and dead by first killing thousands upon thousands of innocent women, children and men. I know my God is a loving God and I know that everything happens for a reason. The end of the world, as I so choose to believe it and if God can control that – will come from the natural deviation of our planet and NOT at his hand by causing all this tragedy. Again, this is my opinion. You don’t have to like it nor agree (though if you DO, PLEASE let me hear your rebuttals).

People want to say, OH BUT ITS IN THE BIBLE. Hold a seat. The Bible is a book written by MAN. It wasn’t written by God himself. How could it be? It was a prophecy written by SOMEONE who claimed to be able to talk to God – that of which has never been proven. THEN, add in all the years and times its been translated and into HOW many different languages and who KNOWS what the ORIGINAL words and script were. Revelations is a great part of the Bible but … it’s not entirely HARD Β to fathom that in SO many years the world would end. Especially if the person writing it had an inkling that over time a planet could indeed suffer the damage of its inhabitants. I could have a hunch about what the year 4000 will look like and maybe I’ll be spot on or maybe I won’t. The Bible COULD very well be a coincidence. The Bible doesn’t determine my faith. My relationship with God does. I don’t take the Bible literally just as I wouldn’t take The DaVinci Code or The Celestine Prophecy literally. These are BOOKS. Nothing more. Your relationship with God and your love for Him should determine your faith. Stop living in fear of retribution from living a less than perfect life. Stop thinking that in 5 years from now; 5 weeks from now; 5 days from now the world will end and you wouldn’t have made your peace. Life is too short for all that nonsense.

Live in the NOW and rejoice in the life you are living TODAY. Be blessed you have air to breathe and the world to wake up to everyday. Live your life as righteously as you can. If you believe in God, pray when things are good AND bad. THIS is what will get you to that bridge. And when the time comes for the world to end, we’ll all cross it together. Stop preaching and warning people and telling people to do this and that when it comes to God, religion or church. Worry about yourself. Leave people alone to decide their own course of action.

And never, ever discount science. If there is a religious explanation then there very well could be a scientific one as well. There is always room for both. It doesn’t HAVE to be one or the other. I’ll leave you with this quote:

β€œThe mark of your ignorance is the depth of your belief in injustice and tragedy. What the caterpillar calls the end of the world, the master calls a butterfly.”

23 Comments

  1. Tashae H. said,

    Yeah, I was talking about this the other day on Twitter with two of my friends one of them being a mutual friend of ours. I respect your view on this, however you mentioned that it was written by man, but in Matthew it shows how God was talking to his disciples and he was pointing out the events that would happen. I mean everyone has a view on this, my boy mentioned to me the other how do we know if the rapture isnt happening right now, ie-people dying, being shot, etc. I know as a Christian (even though I’m not the BEST Christian), I know I just dont sit there and be paranoid and go crazy over these events. I mean I understand these things will happen leading up to his second coming. Not sure if that all made sense,but yeah.

    • Corprah Lanfrey said,

      But again, u say in Matthew it says God (or do you mean Jesus) was talking to his disciples .. but said who? Matthew? Matthew is a man. Where was this corroborated or proven? I can say I sat and spoke to God too .. doesn’t mean it was true. You cannot believe everything you read in the Bible. The Bible contradicts itself many times over. MAN does the same thing (contradicts themselves) … this is a true indication of the mistakes ppl can make … and embellish truths and lies. I respect your stance on this … but as you know and have read, i do NOT believe everything in the bible, i recognize the bible as a book, and a book written by MAN at that, and I find it hard to believe whats been said in the bible has been kept the exact same thru years and centuries and many translations.

  2. Dope said,

    Well said. It’s time to wake up and smell the truth. It’s do or die. The time is NOW.

    • Corprah Lanfrey said,

      Thanks, Dean πŸ™‚ i completely agree.

  3. Tashae H. said,

    I should of been clear with that, but I meant Jesus was talking, because I was told if you see the red print, thats him talking. I don’t know, but I believe what the bible says,I don’t know if it was me being raised in the church since I was a child and being preached at about these world events. Although there were many events that happened in the 19th century like the black plague killing nearly half the population, I wonder were they preaching hardcore about God coming like how they are now. Still nothing has happened, but I know God will come back. One day.

    • Corprah Lanfrey said,

      Agreed. That He will. And your upbringing has a HUGE say in how u are raised with religion, church and so forth. not saying YOU are but never ever apologize for how u were raised when it comes to the belief in God. While people may not feel the same as me, thats completely OK … i respect anyone that can stand up for their beliefs. thats the beauty of humanity.

  4. Moose said,

    Very eloquent & thought provoking πŸ™‚

    I’ve always had resounding discussions with people that anything created or updated by man is flawed. I’m not an Atheist and never denounce the belief in 1 GOD. I just can’t stand people who use GOD to spread fear, ignorance & seperatism. Instead of focusing on rebuilding the poorest nation in the Caribbean & giving them a functioning infrastructure, people choose to spread negative energy. Despicable in my books.

    • Corprah Lanfrey said,

      Thank you, Moose. I much appreciate your comment and I AGREE! There is many many things flawed with the Bible which is why i can’t get down with it like THAT but that doesnt mean i dont believe in or love God any less. It’s funny because I actually started to feel this way in grade 11 in CATHOLIC highschool … and this was due to my world religions class where we studied the bible. it was in this class i saw and pointed out the inconsistencies and contradictions. crazy i tell ya.

    • Corprah Lanfrey said,

      p.s. the latter part of your comment … about ppl using God to spread fear (great example would be terrorism) is spot on. I cant stand that either. THAT is what i live in fear of. those ppl using good for evil means.

  5. Tashae H. said,

    I respect this conversation, cause some people would JUMP on me about my faith and say this & that. But this is good topic. Good one mama.

    • Corprah Lanfrey said,

      Amen. and thank you. Religion is a ROUGH topic to discuss without it going downhill. I, too, respect this convo and know how heated it can get. I thank everyone for being mature and levelheaded and having foresight to be respectful in their responses.

  6. Tashae H. said,

    I’m quite interested in what parts of the bible do you believe are contradictory.

    • Corprah Lanfrey said,

      its been years since i’ve discussed this at length but there are MANY. i did an entire report on them. i just WISH i still had it. to get u specific books and chapters books and references i’d have to google but the ones that stand out is the claim that there would be 7 years of famine but in another part of the bible says three. another was that God does not tempt man but then someone was tempted … i wanna say Abraham but im thinking of David. LOL. see? my mind is rusty. another one that i remember after thinking is a huge one. its after Jesus’ ressurection .. there were inconsistencies to what and who the disciples saw at the tomb. some said angels or A angel and others said a man. so ……. yea. There are MANY, Tash.

      • Tashae H. said,

        Alright, alright. I see where your coming from, never even looked at it like this directly, because I was taught whatever the bible says GOES !Totally off topic, but another thing I don’t disagree with though, for example, if something fornicates and becomes pregnant they are treated harshly! They HAVE to sit in the back of the church,cant participate, nothing, but in the bible God is a compassionate God. There was a woman who committed adultry, and was looked down upon by other people. God never turned her away, so why should a young woman who makes a mistake be looked down harshly by the pastor? Bible can be interpreted in so many ways. People can use it against you badly, sometimes I disagree. Ah. Then there is the whole Jay-Z talks that you brought up lol, sorry my mind is ALL over the place with religion.

  7. Zach said,

    this was very well written cori.

    I agree with you completely, I don’t think my relationship with God is dependent on whether or not I go to a church or read a book. I try to live my life righteously and ‘Christian’ like, but I don’t believe in organized religion.

    I don’t have a lot to say but it was very well written. *clap**clap**clap*

    • Corprah Lanfrey said,

      thanks, Zach! Organized religion leads to what Moose was saying earlier (using it for ignorance, fear and etc) .. the biggest cult (other than the LAPD – yea i said it – is the Catholic church) … sry if THAT offends ppl as well but hey. I’m right there with u about that, Zach.

  8. D'Inspectah said,

    I also believe that the bible was written by God THRU man. That being said, things can be taken out of context and kings (and vagabonds ;p) have changed it up to suit them self. For me, if its true to me and makes sense and positive, I definitely consider it and apply it to my life… thats neither here nor there though.

    That being said, we all know that as each day goes by that the “end of the world” is upon us. That’s the same thing as saying we die a little each day. Duh.

    Live in the now, but don’t discredit what the bible has to say or predict. I believe that Global Warming and The End of Times are in close ties with each other, but we can’t stop either one so… live in the now, and make use of your life. A lot of people do use religion, any religion, to spread lies, fear and ignorance and THAT is played out. Those that wish to follow what the bible should also consider (not sure where it says it) that “No one knows the day nor the hour” when the Lord comes back. Live in the now, you can’t save everyone. But you can save someone. And by save, I mean help.

    • Corprah Lanfrey said,

      This is a fair approach and makes sense. That you can BELIEVE it was written thru God yet changed over time and some things got lost in translation HENCE all the inconsistencies. thats fair … I can see you and meet you half way on that.

  9. Kee'Sha said,

    Like Tashae said, it’s SO beautiful to discuss religion without derogatory insults being thrown around. I share the same line of belief with D’Inspectah & Tashae. One thing that I believe to be important is the power of choice.

    • Corprah Lanfrey said,

      MOST definitely. the power of choice is almost as powerful as religion itself πŸ˜‰

  10. Tashae H. said,

    For real though. The biggest smile is on my face with this topic man. Wow.

  11. Fresh said,

    Well put!! People need to wake up and see life for what it really is, funny cause I was tellin my boy jus yesterday that when and if the end of the world comes, everyone will react to it the same, no matter what ur religious beliefs are. We will be our own destruction. Everyone keeps talkin about how the world is gonna end soon, well I for one don’t wanna see that because I dont know what happens when u die and no living being can tell me otherwise. I believe we all have the power to make this world a better place, through kindness and love, human beings are best when it come to destroying things, wheather its mother earth or our own lives and the lives of our neighbors.. Now is the time people gotta look in the mirror and just try to be better people, better friends, better citizens of the earth. Again, we will be our own destruction or our cure, No one will destroy us but ourselves.

    • Corprah Lanfrey said,

      YES! Completely agree! That’s a big statement “no one will destroy us but ourselves” … i love that.

Leave a Reply

