The Tragedy In Haiti

13 January 2010 at 7:57 pm (Campaigns, Family, Life, News, World Issues) (, , , , , , , , , )


I can’t stress the need for donations, prayers and love that need to be sent from your heart directly to Haiti.

I just saw some extremely graphic pictures of the devastation and suffering going on over there and my heart is breaking. I saw a picture of children’s lifeless bodies being laid out in a truck bed. I wasn’t ready. I wasn’t prepared. I felt my heart stop. The devastation is completely widespread and I feel helpless. I would love to send money over but I’m just not in the financial position to do so. All I can do is pray and send what little I CAN afford. What I AM planning on doing, however, is sending old and unused clothing to the Red Cross in hopes that somehow that can help. Just now in typing this post, I visited their website: http://www.redcross.ca/article.asp?id=000005&tid=003 to see where my local Red Cross is and came across this:

In-kind donations of food, clothing and other items, while well intentioned, are not the best way to help those in need. There are tremendous processing and transportation costs involved in shipping these items to beneficiaries. Local purchases of food and clothing are more culturally appropriate and effective. Red Cross supplies can be purchased in the immediate area, thereby reducing transportation costs. Cash transfers to the affected region provide the optimum flexibility to our Red Cross colleagues so they can meet the most urgent needs.

Now, I know its not the best way but for ME, it’s the only way. I can’t do much more and I refuse to stand idly by. They may not get the clothes right away but I pray in Jesus’ name they get them eventually. I will STILL be sending my clothes to the Red Cross.

If you are unable to send money, clothes or food then PRAY. Prayer is a powerful thing and I know this first hand. I know how effective prayer can be.

On Twitter, I’ve seen some incredibly fucked up tweets that are hateful and racist. There is NO reason to make jokes or make light of the tragedy human life is facing overseas. I don’t care what you beliefs are, a life is a life and NO life is less deserving of our sympathies and prayers JUST because they aren’t the same colour as you. Grow up.

With that small rant being said, please try and do your part. It will make a world of difference.

My love and prayers are with you Haiti. God speed.

Leave a Reply

