Shane Sparks Charged With Felony Child Molestation

18 December 2009 at 11:12 pm (Celebrity, Entertainment, Music, News, Oh You So Nasty!, Televison, WTF!?) (, , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , )


These are THE worst kinds of allegations to harm any celebs career (paging Pleasure P). I’m thoroughly disgusted of course but all the same I’m interested to know why its taken the alleged victim 15 years to come forward. I’ll have my eye on this story as it unfolds. I’m a huge fan of Shane’s work … this is depressing.

Los Angeles police arrested “America’s Best Dance Crew” judge Shane Sparks (born Melvin Shane Sparks), Friday morning (December 18) on a felony warrant and charged him with eight counts of felony child molestation. He is being held on $590,000 bail.

According to a spokesperson for the Los Angeles District Attorney’s Office, Sparks, 40, was taken into custody at around 8 a.m. PT on Friday on a felony warrant charging him with molestation that began in 1993 and allegedly continued until 1997.

Sparks, whose age was listed as 40 in the arrest warrant, was charged with six felony counts of committing a lewd act on a child, identified by her first name and last initial as being under the age of 14, “with the intent of arousing, appealing to, and gratifying the lust, passions and sexual desires of the said defendant and the said child.” The alleged incidents are said to have occurred between July 1, 1994 and August 1, 1994, December 1, 1994 and August 3, 1995, August 4, 1995 and April 30, 1997 and April 4, 1995 and April 30, 1997.

He was also charged with two counts of oral copulation of a person under the age of 16 by someone over the age of 21 for incidents that allegedly occurred between April 4, 1995 and April 30, 1997 and August 4, 1995 and April 30, 1997.

KTTV Fox News 11 in Los Angeles reported that the victim was one of Sparks’ dance students at Millennium Dance Complex in Los Angeles.

MTV had no comment on the arrest, and a rep for Sparks told MTV News that no comment was available at press time.

Cincinnati-born Sparks has worked with Brandy, Aaliyah, Monica and Lindsay Lohan and was nominated for an Emmy for his choreography on “So You Think You Can Dance.”

Source

2 Comments

  1. Corprah Lanfrey said,

    I may catch a lot of heat for this comment but … I wouldnt be me if I didnt say what I think needs to be said:

    There isnt a lot of information here about the alleged victim. Her exact age isn’t revealed but from what I’ve seen THUS far I don’t agree with the child molestation charge. If she was 14 or 15 like the tabs are saying then I think, if anything, he should be charged with stat rape. A 14 yr old is capable of saying no and I don’t think Shane forced anything. If so, WHY wait so long to come forward. It’s not like this was a CHILD (under 12/13). I’m less inclined to get SO up in arms because while it’s definitely not RIGHT what he did, I’m really skeptical of the reason to wait 15 years … this would make the victim 30 yrs old. WHAT!? Why now!? Of course, Shane should’ve been the adult and stayed away, said no or whatever BUT … I know what *I* was like at 15 and this victim could be only a couple years older than me. 15 yrs old isnt an innocent age. Believe me.

    I want to know more details.

  2. Ms Camy said,

    It’s funny…because as I read this…I thought the same thing you did. You are 15???? THOUGH…everyone is different, and therefore won’t react as quickly as others. Maybe the individual decided to put it behind them when it first initially occurred (I guess that’s obvious), and then something traumatic happend where it sparked *no pun intended* for them to come out in the open 15 years later. I dunno… I’m on the fence with this until, like you said, more is revealed!

    Regardless though, molestation is molestation is molestation. And for this to even reach under his name, he is nasty for it. *humph*

    Is this similar to the R. Kelly incident? and if so, he got charged rape no?

    But yes keep us posted please…

Leave a Reply

