Internet Vs. Real Life Rant

23 October 2009 at 1:55 pm (Funny Things, Life, Random, Rants, WTF!?) (, , , )


Don’t sit there and tell me what you put on the ‘net isn’t a reflection of you or your current mind state. Fuck that. You’re delusional. The world-wide web is home to the real and the fake but I would hope the people I meet and KNOW on it are nothing but real. At the very least, I’d expect them to be the same online as they are in real life. I say this because I only know GROWN people. Children do things like create fake net personas.

I was just told to pay no attention what’s put on someone’s facebook because it’s usually done to throw people off. Off what!? lol … Now, if I wasn’t personally affected I wouldn’t care. Your facebook is YOUR facebook. Do what you want but when you are telling me things that are SUPER serious; when you claim to be showing me things that are VERY serious, I’m going to be looking at your actions to see if you are contradicting yourself. And YES, that includes your actions towards me in person, on the phone AND on the ‘net. The internet is just as important a communication medium as the phone or face to face speaking. It’s not the most ideal means but its an important one. If you deny that you’re lame. Social networking is HUGE for our generation. Do NOT discount its influence.

I’m not a person that’s going to take ANYTHING you say seriously if you are contradicting yourself in real life. Hell, on my facebook I claim to be married. But I can DO that because there are no men in my life that I’m leading on to believe they could be my man. Right now, it’s in all good fun. However, if I ever find myself in a position where I’m dating someone I would change that status. Simple.

You tell me that you want to marry me. You tell me that you want me to have your child (no exaggeration here) and then a few days later you have relationship status changes on facebook, youtube links dedicating songs to your “boo” and status updates implying you have a shorty you’re feeling? And I’m supposed to think what you told me is the TRUTH!? LMFAO. Facebook or not, I’m not looking at WHAT you are posting so much as the fact you ARE posting it!  There is a difference. To me it says a lot about your character and where your head is at. What’s the reasoning behind doing that? You SAY it’s to ward people off that are trying to holla at you but you have the choice to NOT say anything at all. Instead, you consciously CHOOSE to contradict yourself.  Personally, I believe you want a reaction. You want me to ask questions. Perhaps you may even want to make me jealous. If anything, all it does is turn me off, push me farther away and deepen my already skeptical nature of you.

And don’t further piss me off by telling me I’m trippin’ for believing what I see online rather than what you are showing me. You must think you are showing me something that goes above and beyond what I’m seeing online. You are wrong. Also, don’t wish me good luck with “all that”. It’s a slap in the face.

I don’t appreciate the mind games.

You people past the age of 23 need to grow up and realize the ‘net is the ‘net but who really goes online past the age of 23 to be “someone else” or allow people to believe they are someone else? If people are that nosy and in your business, try lessening your online presence. Or eradicate them from your life altogether. It’s really not that hard.

One thing about ME, and anyone that truly knows me will vouch for me when I say, my online “persona” directly reflects my “real life” persona … What you see is what you get. There is no frontin’ over here. I surround myself with like-minded people … I just wish you would do the same.

4 Comments

  1. Blog Your Site | Does Internet Security Software Really Work? said,

    […] Internet Vs. Real Life Rant « Corprah Lanfrey Tagged with: communication • computer • Internet • softwere • technology […]

  2. Twitter Trackbacks for Internet Vs. Real Life Rant « Corprah Lanfrey [corprahlanfrey.wordpress.com] on Topsy.com said,

    […] Internet Vs. Real Life Rant « Corprah Lanfrey corprahlanfrey.wordpress.com/2009/10/23/internet-vs-real-life-rant – view page – cached Don’t sit there and tell me what you put on the ‘net isn’t a reflection of you or your current mind state. Fuck that. You’re delusional. The world-wide web is home to the real and the fake… (Read more)Don’t sit there and tell me what you put on the ‘net isn’t a reflection of you or your current mind state. Fuck that. You’re delusional. The world-wide web is home to the real and the fake but I would hope the people I meet and KNOW on it are nothing but real. At the very least, I’d expect them to be the same online as they are in real life. I say this because I only know GROWN people. Children do things like create fake net personas. (Read less) — From the page […]

  3. Mz. Fenyx said,

    Completely agree. Why do you need to lie about yourself using a medium that is primarily used to let other people know about you? *scratches head*

    • Corprah Lanfrey said,

      lol thank you. thats how i feel yet I shouldnt believe it.
      ok. then.

Leave a Reply

