Kia Isn’t Lying. But Neither Is Drake

20 September 2009 at 12:12 pm (Celebrity, Entertainment, Mixtapes, Music, Toronto Life, Why Is This News?) (, , , , , , , , , , , )


drake-kia-shine-300x300-2009-09-18

You know … I didn’t want to get mixed up in this foolishness. I mean, this is so dumb but after being to OVO I feel like a LOT of people need some education here. On a forum board I gave my two cents and asked if it was really that big of a deal and while I think not, for some it really seems to be. For the people unaware of what I’m referring to here goes:

Kia Shine did a track for Lil Wayne called Do It For the Boy:

Upon first listen you can RIGHT away hear the melodies (and some lyrics) are identical with regards to those from Drake‘s Best I Ever Had:

This is nothing new. Artists borrow, sample and whatever else from other artists all the time. But herein lies the main issue: BMI recently honoured Kia Shine with 3 awards that show him as a writer for Best I Ever Had. Stating he has 25% shares of this song, Kia says there is no error here. But, in the kerfuffle (yes, thats a word – lol) Drake released this statement on OVO:

There have been questions posed to me the last few days about the writing of Best I Ever Had and I figured I’d take the time to clear the air directly. I have never met Kia Shine or worked with him. I wrote the entire composition in Toronto and I borrowed one line from a Lil Wayne song that he produced the BEAT for. The claims of 25% ownership are false and for a artist to brag about splits on a song is distasteful to begin with.
Source

So, now, with this statement comes people saying Kia is a liar (which is impossible – BMI can’t make that shit up) and Drake is a fake (which is bullshit because what is he being fake about exactly?) People then want to say that because of this all of a sudden Drake doesn’t write his own stuff and that is making me laugh because from this SMALL situation people are reading way too much into it. I’m not a fan of Kia Shine but I AM a fan of Drake (which is why I took it upon myself to find out what’s good BEFORE putting in my uneducated two cents like most of y’all did). With all that said, my love for Toronto’s Very Own isn’t going to blind myself to the facts.

What it comes down to is that Kia DOES have 25% share of Best I Ever Had because it was indeed SAMPLED from Do It For the Boy. This does NOT mean that Kia ghostwrites for Drake or is trying to damage Drake’s career or credibility or start beef. It simply means that he wants his due and he’s legally allowed to HAVE his due – period. Some people are claiming, “I dont see why Drake has to be paying him” or “He’s sitting on his ass, getting paid off Drake now” … well, put yourself in Kia’s position … if you CLEARLY have shares for a track and you werent credited, you fuckers KNOW you are gonna want your money, too. Don’t front and act like you wouldn’t want to get paid as well. If you say “nah, you’d just let Drake have that 25%” you are lying to yourself. Kia DID THE TRACK – lmao. It’s not like he is saying he did it and it was never released or something. Do It For the Boy has BEEN out there. He’s not suing Drake – the proof is in the pudding, people. Furthermore, how much is 25% really?

As for Drake, I feel somewhat bad for him because when he released the aforementioned statement, he BELIEVED what he was saying, at least that’s my hope. He truly felt that was the case and the truth – therefore you cannot call the man fake for saying what he believes to be the truth. I, DO, however think Drake got caught up in something without being able to research the facts – not that he even HAS to. People in his camp, management and whomever else need to sit him down and explain to him WHY Kia is right and NOT in the wrong. People in his camp need to not misinform him before he puts out statements such as the one above, wrongfully labelling someone as a liar or an opportunist. It makes for a crummy situation and gets ppl’s fanbases looking completely stupid and uneducated – lol.

All in all, I dont think anyone needs to apologize or back track any statements but I DO think if the fans and media are going to blame anyone, blame the ppl behind artists that fail to educate their artists on the business side of the game … without that education comes situations like these.

Now that the situation has been put to rest, can we all just calm the hell down and keep it moving?

Stans, haters? What say you?

1 Comment

  1. RobD said,

    There is obviously a lot to know about this. There are some good points here. 🙂

Leave a Reply

