Random Thoughts ….

5 August 2009 at 9:59 am (Life, Love & Relationships, Movies, Random) (, , , , , , )


…. while in class rather than reviewing notes:

Someone just reminded me that Johnny Depp is old. Now, I know he’s in his 40’s but I didn’t realize he was closer to 50 than 40. I pegged him at like 41, 42 max. He actually just turned 46 on June 9. Now, from 42 to 46 isn’t a big jump and this is OK. I still love him. I still think he’s one of the most interesting and eccentric actors out there. And, I would still hungrily ransack his bones but … I must admit I was a tad bit shocked.

A lady in my class, who’s in her 50’s, shared with us a VERY romantic story about how she met her husband. She was born and raised in Hong Kong and is new to Canada. Her story is so inspiring and courageous. She talked about being a late bloomer in almost everything in her life and said she never planned on falling in love or getting married after a string of hurtful relationships (and THAT resonated within me the most) and yet here she is telling us that anything is possible. Even for a woman in her 50’s. It was so cute and touching.

Meryl Streep. On my way in this morning, I heard a commercial for her new movie and I started to think, man, a lot of actresses in Hollywood must HATE on Meryl. lol. As much as she’s respected I know they must be hatin’ on her hard. She’s not traditionally beautiful by any stretch of the imagination but on the other hand shes not pumped full of collagen and plastic. By Hollywood standards, shes considered “old” but yet she’s ALWAYS in a movie and very in demand. In an industry where most actresses have to starve themselves to get work or strive for controversy in their personal lives to stay relevant, Meryl Streep is actually respected for what should truly matter – her talent.

These random thoughts all center around older adults. I wonder why? That wasn’t  done intentionally but just as I started to type up my Meryl paragraph I realized this. Interesting. Maybe I’m having one of my “old soul” days 😉

Leave a Reply

