CPR/First Aid Certified.

9 June 2009 at 8:43 pm (Beauty, Health & Fitness, Life) (, , , , , , , , , , )


So. I’m done all exams (at least for awhile) and I flew through with a lovely 96% average. YAY! Today and tomorrow we are in First Aid/CPR training. My instructor, Natalia (of The Canadian Red Cross) is Lithuanian and has a THICK ass accent but I understand her just fine. She’s nice but says “okay” funny. It comes out like “oookeh” LOL LOL LOL. And when she says “choking” it sounds like a West Indian “chokin” .. she’s just awesome LOL. And she has NO patience for the dumb dumbs in my class. She’s pretty clear and concise and professional, too,  but there are actual grown adults in my class that speak over her or don’t pay attention and she ice grills them and I swear I seen her roll her eyes once. It’s hilarious.

Anyway, By June 11, 2009,  I’ll be certifed and will have an official sounding “SFA/CPR-C” behind my name. This means I’m certified and qualified to administer First Aid and CPR to any injured baby, child and/or adult if no one else (meaning a medical professional) is around in case of an emergency.

You see people administer CPR all the time on tv and in movies but it really isn’t as easy as it looks. There are many meticulous things you must do to ensure the patient is taken care of properly. It’s a lot of information to retain in two days but it’s fascinating and GOOD TO KNOW.

On Thursday, I’ll be on a field trip to the University of Guelph to visit the Anatomy Lab. I will be elbows deep (I hope) in cadavers and will get to hold a real heart, lung, brain and other various organs. I am SO excited. SO SO SO excited. I’m only slightly weary of the smell of formaldehyde. NOT looking forward to that but it’s ok. I’m sure I’ll get used to it.

I shall be back Thursday night or Friday afternoon with an amazing blog about my experience. Camera’s are prohibited in the lab so I probably won’t get to take any pictures but if I CAN, I will. Promise.

I also can’t wait to get back into class to see what my Prof has to say about a certain student that was caught cheating on our 2nd last exam *whistling*. Hahahaha!

Leave a Reply

