The Neverending Story

16 May 2009 at 3:20 pm (Entertainment, Life, Movies, Throwbacks) (, , , , , , , , )


I will never tire of this movie. The Neverending Story, in so many ways almost DEFINES my childhood. I saw this movie for the first time when I was around 7 years old and fell in love with the magic of this story. To this day I still see remnants of the message of the movie everywhere. I see it most in my 5 yr old daughter with whom I watched the movie this afternoon. Her imagination and wishes and dreams are so innocent and vibrant and I LOVE it. Seeing her face light up at certain parts of the movie remind me of when I used to watch as a child. I remember crying (as she did today) when Artax “died”. I remember having the cutest puppy love crush on Atreyu and wanting to be llike Bastien and have a chance to ride Falcor. I remember once the movie was over closing my eyes tight and wishing and wishing to be whisked away to Fantasia. LOL. It all seems silly to me now as a grown woman but the child in me loves how easy life was then. How a child had no cares in the world other than not having a luck dragon show up outside her window. I’m so glad it came on this morning as my daughter turned to look at me and declared: “I just LOVE this movie, mommy. It was great!”

On a funny note: doesn’t Falcor remind you of Spencer Pratt of The Hills fame? 😉

1 Comment

  1. tinxwinx said,

    I am looking for a producer for The Neverending Story on stage at Javits Convention Center in New York City. Both an opera and ballet score have been composed by Siegfried Matthus. And Warner Bros. is producing The Neverending Story as a modern feature film with an original soundtrack. Please visit my website for more details by following the link below.

    http://www.the-neverending-story.com

Leave a Reply

