You Know What’s Nice?

18 November 2008 at 10:06 pm (Life)


It’s nice that when you talk someone listens. They pick out what seems like the most trivial anecdote and store it away and then do something with it later on. I mean, the best part of talking to someone is knowing that they are HEARING you. Sometimes, it’s crazy because when they turn around and do something so sweet with the words you told them, that you yourself actually kind of forgot, you look at them in disbelief and all you can do is smile and say to yourself: “well, alright!”

It’s nice when, for so long in your past, you had people in your life that didn’t accept you for who you are or what you’re about and what you stand for. You vow, through all of that, to never change because you are who you are and someone, someday will love you for it and they won’t expect nor will they demand that you change. And, when that day comes and not only do they accept you, but they are almost in some ways, the same as you, you realize that standing your ground was the best thing you could have ever done.

It’s nice to know that even if you’re thinking of someone, you don’t have to always be the one to pick up the phone and call them because your phone rings first.

It’s nice to feel loved. By the people that genuinely love you and even by the people that hate you. Yes, people that hate you really love you. Why? Because in order to hate someone you have to love someone first. Think about it. I already have and that’s my conclusion. Hate is a strong word and it’s a passion-filled emotion. Without love you can’t hate. Otherwise, it’s simply disdain, strong dislike or loathing.

At the end of the day there are so many things in this world that are bad and negative and wrong. Too easily we get caught up in the evils of the world. It’s a lot easier said than done to take the time and “smell the roses” but if you are consistent with it, it actually becomes easier rather than harder. Everyday, I sit and reflect and think about what’s nice in my life or what’s good in my world rather than focus on what’s wrong with it. It wasn’t easy at first because a lot of things just weren’t right. But the more I MADE myself find the good … the more it actually became apparent and before I realized it, I had a lot more GOOD things going on in my life than bad things.

These days, I walk a little taller. I laugh a little louder. I smile much broader and I hold my head higher.

I still have my bad days. I’m only human. But rather than mope and harp on it. I allow myself time to get pissed off and then ….. I.move.on.

I’m in a happy place right now and I think that’s why things are finally coming together for me.

And that’s pretty damn nice.

2 Comments

  1. Eddie King said,

    Hello again, Corprah!
    Just read this piece and had to stop for a minute to tell you how dead on you are! I now have someone in my life exactly like you describe, and it just gets better and stronger every day!

    Funny how most people can’t seem to grasp that, huh? They’re so busy focusing on the negative aspects that there’s no room for anything positive. They’ll never take the time to “smell the roses”, because they never even noticed the roses were there in the first place!

    Anyway, thanks again for a GREAT blog, and God bless you!!

  2. Corprah Lanfrey said,

    Eddie. Your words are always appreciated!!
    Thank you. You know, I didn’t always get it myself. I was always caught up with what I didn’t have or what made me mad but I think with age and perspective comes wisdom and appreciation and I most definitely appreciate the good and bad things in my life but I focus more on the good while I allow the bad to “learn” me and make me stronger.

    God bless you, also, and keep reading! =)

Leave a Reply

