Happy Thanksgiving, Canada!!

12 October 2008 at 11:13 am (Family, Love & Relationships) (, , , , , )


Autumn is my favourite time of year. Not too cold, not too hot; it’s just right.  The colours of red, orange, brown and yellow are gorgeous and its home to my favouite holiday. Yes, that’s right. I love Thanksgiving more than Christmas and Easter.  I enjoy the time with family over a huge table of amazing food: turkey, homemade stuffing, mashed potatoes, sweet potatoes, corn, homemade gravy and more. Then for dessert you have pumpkin and apple pie!  YUM!

This holiday will be especially hard beause its the first major holiday that my grandmother won’t be here for. She passed away last April from cancer. But, I know she’ll be with us in spirit, of course. And that’s what family is for. If it gets tough with the memories, we’ll all be there to lean on each other.

This holiday I’ve invited my best friend and her daughter to my family’s Thanksgiving. She’s already met them so it won’t be too daunting for her to be in a Scotian household for the first time (we CAN get rowdy and crazy – lol.) I refer to her as my sister, and she’s like family anyway so it’ll be fun.

I especially love this holiday, though, for the exact reason of family. You are left to reflect and look at your life and see what you are thankful for. You are forced to sit and recognize the good in your life because all too often we only look at the negatives. This Thanksgiving I’m most thankful for my health, given that the past week has been rough for me. I am also thankful for my family and friends. My REAL friends. I am also thankful that I live a country where I have the right to do what I’m doing right now. Writing, expressing myself, having freedoms and such.

My prayers are with the many people of the world that may not have the things I have.

On a lighter note, I’m also happy and thankful for the time off work and all the football I’m about to watch!

God bless you all and Happy Thankgsiving.

Leave a Reply

