American Politics, Canadian Interest

17 September 2008 at 11:49 am (News, Politics, World Issues) (, , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , )


I’ll admit it. I’m NO expert on politics. I find politics quite boring, actually. Especially Canadian politics. They aren’t engaging at all. I usually do my research on the parties the month before I actually vote (yea, I know, I know. Be quiet).

I’m definitely NO expert on American politics that’s for sure but I’ll be damned if I know more about their politics than ours. Why is this? I’m not 100% sure. Could it be that the president of the U.S (not George STANKIN ASS Bush – but just in general) seems more powerful and relevant than our prime minister? I know that sounds wrong but think about it. A lot of Americans I talk to say that they don’t even know we don’t have a president. lol.

Anyway, I didn’t find myself paying much attention last election. The Gore vs. Bush election was only interesting because of the ballot controversy. I wasn’t even interested in the Clinton administration until AFTER he was elected into office. But man oh man. This Obama vs McCain election has me seeking out information. Daily.

If you haven’t guessed by now, yes, I am black. So ONE part of my fascination stems from history being made. As everyone knows Barack Obama could be the first black president of the United States of America. That alone has me interested. But it’s also because, the man can SPEAK. He is charismatic, he is positive, he is change. He is just captivating. His wife, Michelle, equally so. And then, before McCain, I was also fascinated by Hillary Clinton. She’s Bill’s wife, so, of course, I would be, right? lol. No, but all jokes aside, she, of course, could have been the United States’ first FEMALE president. 

I felt like I was back in 2002, when Halle and Denzel won Oscars. Such a change. Such excitement.

So, Hillary’s chances are kaput; we know this now. but, here comes Obama. Endorsements from Oprah (holla!), The Kennedy’s and more. He’s been accused by McCain as being a case of celebrity. McCain has huge jowls. He bothers me, but that’s neither here nor there. How fitting is it then, that his hockey mom, Tina Fey dead ringer running partner, Sarah Palin, is now in the same position as Obama? Hmmm. Depending on who you ask, some will say this election seems like a soap opera. They could be right. They could be wrong.

I am in no position to vote. I’m Proudly Canadian over here! But if I could, I’d be voting for Obama and NOT just because he’s black but because after eight years of Bush, my American friends and loved ones, you deserve a capable and passionate leader. All politicians, American, Canadian and Yaddadadian, are master manipulators. They all makes promises they can’t or don’t keep. They all talk a pile of shit BUT you always choose the best man for the job. From the information I’ve read and heard, Obama is that man.

I hope he wins.

If not, Canada better prepare itself. A lot of Americans pulling for him say: “If Obama doesn’t win, I’m packing my shit and moving to Canada!”

LOL.

3 Comments

  1. Business blog » Blog Archive » American Politics, Canadian Interest said,

    […] Read the rest of this great post here […]

  2. D Inspectah said,

    I’ve always been more interested in the American politics than our Canadian shenanigans. I think firstly, the American politics are much more dramatic and entertaining. Also, we are usually only given 6-8 for our federal elections whereas in the States, they seem to go on forever!

    Besides, a lot of Canadian culture is influenced by the Americans. Think of our food, our music, our entertainment?! It’s only natural for us to be more interested in the American politics since we already interested in everything else they do.

    Over the years, I’ve been trying to understand politics in general. But this year, I’ve been following it closely especially because we had a woman successfully running for President and an African American man running as well. And thankfully it wasn’t Jesse Jackson or Al Sharpton (whew!). Whomever wins, its history in the making: either a female vice president or a black president.

    It’ll be in the text books folks!

  3. Corprah Lanfrey said,

    whereas in the States, they seem to go on forever!

    ========================

    LOL! It seems like Obama has been running since 2000 dont it? haha.

Leave a Reply

