Writer’s Block

17 August 2008 at 10:13 am (Random) (, , , , )


I’m suffering from it. Drastically. It seems that I have to write about writers block in order to have something to write about. I want to write. I have that urge and desire to just let loose but I have no inspiration.  I have no topic. I have no rant. I have no subject. I could probably call up a friend and tell them to give me a word and write something but I don’t want to have to THINK about something and then conjure up an essay or paragraph. I want to feel compelled to write something out that will be relevant. I find my most successful blogs come after I’ve felt I had to say something. ( Geez, that was a lot of “somethings” ). They resonate within people. People feel what I’m saying. When I write simply for the sake of writing I don’t feel like anyone wins. Maybe I’m rambling right now to push myself into an “aha!” moment: “I can write about this”  But, alas ….. nothing.

It’s OK. I’ve tried reading this past weekend, given the fact I don’t have much time to sit and read these days. I’ve quite enjoyed it. Maybe I can do a book review. Maybe that will be something that can prompt me. Hmm.

Usually when I suffer from writer’s block, I let nature take its course and when it hits me, I’m ready to go again. But people are asking me what’s up with the lack of personal blogs. Not necessarily blogs about MY life but ones that aren’t about news or celebrities. And that’s a fair question but now y’all know. I just don’t know WHAT to write about.

I woke up this morning and had a GREAT idea in my head. I made myself a tea and some toast, decided I’m going to make roast beef for Sunday dinner and sat down to my computer and ……………. *blank* The idea is gone. I hope it comes to me at some point throughout the day because I remember feeling good about the content. I just cant remember it. ‘Tis a shame.

Bear with me, folks. I hope to snap out of this soon. Hey, if anyone has any suggestions on how to quickly deal with writer’s block, do share. Thanks.

5 Comments

  1. Shaunni said,

    I feel this way ALOTT of the time.
    Me at 18, and still having a journal/diary.
    Gives me a chance daily to write about everything and everything.
    I feel like sometimes I need topics to write
    about and get people interested enough to comment but
    in the end writing about what YOU think and
    giving people a chance to decide whether they
    agree or not inspires.

    I will think of some very interesting topics
    for you. :)<3

  2. Corprah Lanfrey said,

    ideas and suggestions are always welcome! thanks, mama

  3. Gina Henderson said,

    I stumbled upon your blog and I believe I can help eliminate Writer’s Block!

    Writer’s block is when our conscious mind – that critical and analytical part of our brain – gets in the way of our subconscious mind – the creative and free-flowing part of our brain that speaks in images and symbols. After all, the subconscious is where our stories are birthed.

    I have step-by-step instruction on how to unlock the subconscious on my blog and eliminate writer’s block. I hope it helps for anyone who runs into writer’s block.

    Happy writing, everyone!!

    That’s my two pence…
    Arial 😉

    • Corprah Lanfrey said,

      Thank you so much for your comment. I’ll definitely keep your site in mind the next time this should strike! Much appreciated.

      • Gina Henderson said,

        You are very welcome! I love to share information and I”m glad this helped. 😉

Leave a Reply

