Get Ready To Jump Up!

29 July 2008 at 9:34 am (Local Events) (, , , , , , , , , , , )


Soca in the city!!!

For my local heads, we all know what this week brings.  CARIBANA!!!!!

It’s something I usually only get excited about every 2-3 years. It’s been a grip since I partook in the festivities but I have a couple reasons to be excited this year. I have a special someone coming to enjoy their first ever Caribana with me as well as a couple other people I plan to party with. I’m also excited because I know a BBQ I’ll be attending on the Sunday after the parade will be bangin! I’m talking great music, amazing food, gorgeous costumes and beautiful people. What ISN’T there to be excited about!?

Of course you can expect some pictures and a blog but I’ll be scarce over the weekend. You probably won’t see any activity on Corprah Lanfrey from Thurs til Tues of next week. In accordance with the happenings in my city right now, be sure to peep the Throwback Track Of the Day page … all old school soca and calypso classics. Well, the ones I’m able to cop off youtube, anyway.

If you haven’t been, you need to be! I can’t wait to whine and jump up!

1 Comment

  1. Nina said,

    You know how I feel about Caribana.
    Last good Caribana I remember was like 7 years ago. Since then it’s been about some bullshit. It doesnt celebrate what its supposed to be about. Now it’s about american dudes and their RENTED rides and grillz, canadian females degrading themselves in their booty shorts with cellulite asses hanging out drooling over the american accents thinking they are different from the other gurls just cuz the dude said he wants to take u back home with him but really he has a gurl a wife and a baby mama wherever he came from, dudes from here who try to put on the New York accent cuz they know otherwise they aint gettin laid…I could go on lol….Disgusting.

Leave a Reply

